Big Bro
Absolutely, I’ll get them sent over to you ASAP.
Best big brother ever!!
Big Bro
I know.
* * *
It’s official, I’m going to kill the guys.
Before they came out of the dressing room, Tony kindly informed me that he overheard them all talking about the bathroom incident this morning, and now the whole team is standing in front of Tony and I on the ice, looking at me like I’m naked.
I fucking hate this.
“Alright boys, before we start the practice, I want to introduce you to someone” Tony says placing a hand on my back. “This is Claire, she’s going to be my new assistant coach.”
I nod my head, trying my best to keep a straight face and ignore the butterflies filling my stomach.
“Claire’s a figure skater with impeccable technique, not only will she be able to teach you to be more graceful on the ice, but also how to maneuver through the competition.”
Lucas raises his hand, and I feel my heart drop, “Coach, how is the pretty girl going to help us? She’s a figure skater, what the hell would she know about hockey?” He gives me a cocky smile, feeling as though he’s got the best of me.
It hits me then, what his nickname really means. He’s saying I’m pretty and that’s about all I have going for me. That I’m more beauty than brains…
What anasshole.
Tony goes to say something but I stop him before he has the chance. No way am I letting Lucas —ass hat— St. James, make a fool of me on my very first day.
I skate towards him, all the boys making room for me to pass through. “You’re crossovers suck, they’re slowing you down when you try to switch directions, you rely too much on your inside edge, your slap shot is less than impressive and you don’t know how to control the puck properly.” The confidence that he once had, slowly disappears as I speak, and that only encourages me to keep going. “You rely on Blair more than you should, allowing the other team to read you like a goddamn book, they know your next move before you even think of it. Five minutes into a game and they’ve already won because you make it easy for them.” I wait a second, daring Lucas —or any of the others— to say something. When they don’t, I allow myself to claim this little victory and turn to face the whole group.
“None of you know me, so before you go making assumptions about who I am and what I know, maybe listen to what I have to say. I may be a figure skater but I know my shit, so if you’re all done being insecure little boys… can we start practice?”
three
LUCAS
When I get home I go straight up to my room. I’m so fucking embarrassed and annoyed that she called me out at practice today, and then proceeded to show all of us that she may actually be able to help us this season.
God, I don’t know why that girl annoys me so much, but she does. She manages to hit that one nerve, that one stupid nerve that makes me go fucking crazy.
My music blasts, drowning out all the thoughts running through my head as I lay in my bed and stare at the ceiling. I need to stop replaying her little victory over and over. Just as I’m about to, she opens the door and sticks her head in. I’m instantly filled with rage, her stupid face, and her stupid freckles, and her stupid captivating blue eyes, and that stupidly cute way she plays with her long, dark brown hair when she’s nervous… it’s all just so stupid.
Okay, fine.Maybe I do know why she’s so annoying.
I had a plan this year, one filled with parties, chicks, victories and hanging out with my best friends… and now all of that is ruined. How am I supposed to bring a girl home? What if she sees Claire and then decides to leave? What if Claire gets all weird about it and cock blocks me before I even get through the front door?
Before I have the chance to think about what I’m doing, I’m moving forward and slamming the door in her face. Her hand gets caught though, and I hear her yelp before pulling it back.
Fuck. Is she okay?
I didn’t mean to hurt her. Fucking fuck. I may not like her but I would never lay a hand on a girl, and I definitely never have the intention to physically harm one on purpose.
I whip the door open as fast as I can, “aw, youdocare” she says sarcastically. She’s gripping her hand, but otherwise seems okay. If she’s in pain, then she’s doing a damn good job at hiding it.
I’m not like him,I remind myself, the mantra filling my head, and I do my best to convince myself of that.