"I didn't even notice when it broke..." I say quietly. He lets out a frustrated sigh. "We're missing an A," he says.
"So now it spells 'RAV'. Guess that's what I'm calling you from now on."
I laugh softly. "I don't mind," I say. "If I ever see Emiliana again, I'll ask her for a new A." He chuckles under his breath, but it's kind of sad. And I guess I understand why.
Because we probably won't see her again. I sit back down on the edge of the bed and look at the bracelet in his hands. He's trying so hard to fix it. "Hey…how's your mom?" I ask, trying to sound casual while folding the last pair of socks.
Gio looks up from the sea of beads. "She's good. Still tired, but better. Doctors gave us a whole list of things to keep in mind, but she's home. That's what matters."
I smile, relieved. "That's really good. I'm glad."
Then I pause. Think. "Can we stop by tomorrow?" I add. "To say goodbye? I'd really like to see her." He glances up at me and nods, smiling. "Of course."
And then it hits me.
Wait. Oh my God.
WAIT. I haven't talked to her since before. Since before Gio and I becamethis. In other words, I haven't spoken to her since I became her son's boyfriend.
And suddenly it feels like I can't breathe. Oh my god. What if she hates me now?! What if she thinks I'm just some awkward, quiet boy who latched onto her son and tricked him into dating me with sad puppy eyes and good grammar? What if she thinks I'm a phase?! What if she thinks I'm boring?!
She probably expected Gio to date someone cool. Someone with edge. With way more tattoos and a past and a sharp tongue. Not me. I'm the guy who makes color-coded study guides.
I say "thank you" too often. I eat with both hands on the table. She probably thinks I'm the human version of lukewarmtea. And now I'm going to show up at her house like:Hi! I've been secretly sucking, riding and dating your son this whole time and I forgot to tell you because I'm emotionally stunted!
"Gio…" I say slowly, turning toward him. "Your mom, does she…know about us?" He nods, unbothered.
"And…what did she say?"
He shrugs. "Ehh. She was a little disappointed. Said I could do better."
I stare at him. My soul detaches from my body. "WHAT?!" He doesn't even flinch. "She hates me," I whisper. "She hates me. I'm boring. I'm awkward. I speak too politely. She thinks I'm a loser, doesn't she?!" Gio finally looks up. "Ravioli—"
"I wasn't charming enough, oh my God. I didn't even offer to help with the dishes the last time I was there, what the fuck was I THINKING—"
"Rava."
"I'm gonna cry. I'm literally going to cry. I should've brought her flowers. I should've learned how to bake. I'm going to get broken up with by your mother."
Gio starts laughing. Quiet at first, then full on. "She's gonna hate me forever. She's going to sit you down and say, 'Gio, that boy is the reason you're tired all the time.' She's going to say I suck the joy out of you like a mosquito."
He's losing it now.
"Don't laugh! This is serious! She's your mother, Gio. If she doesn't like me, I'll have no choice but to set myself on fire. It's over. I'll die."
He gets off the bed and sits on the floor next to me, laughing, still shaking his head. He pulls me into his arms, hugs me so tight I can barely breathe, and kisses the top of my head. "Baby," he says, smiling against my temple, "I'm messing with you. She loves you. She was really happy when I told her."
I freeze in his arms. Pull back slowly. "Gio."
"Mm?"
"I swear to God, I'm going to slap you. I don't care who you are." He bursts out laughing again. "Oh no! Rava's mad! What ever shall I do?"
"You deserve it."
"You love me."
"Against my will."